Some observations from travels

Panta Rhei – Everything Flows

Ever-newer waters flow on those who step into the same rivers .”

“All entities move and nothing remains still”

“Everything changes and nothing remains still… and… you cannot step twice into the same stream”

“We both step and do not step in the same rivers. We are and are not.”

These are excerpt from the philosophies of Heraclitus of Ephesus (c. 535 – c. 475 BCE).  Compliments of the ever reliable Wikipedia, I found out what Panta Rhei meant.  Heraclitus was known to be the Obscure and Weeping Philosopher and for his insistence in the ever-present change in our universe.

His philosophy on Panta Rhei is comparable to many other adages and tales including one of Buddhists’ three marks of existence – impermanence, unsatisfactoriness and non-selfhood.  “According to the impermanence doctrine, human life embodies this flux in the aging process, the cycle of birth and rebirth (samsara), and in any experience of loss. This is applicable to all beings and their environs including devas (mortal gods). The Buddha taught that because conditioned phenomena are impermanent, attachment to them becomes the cause for future suffering (dukkha). Impermanence is intimately associated with the doctrine of anatta, according to which things have no fixed nature, essence, or self. For example, in Mahayana Buddhism, because all phenomena are impermanent, and in a state of flux, they are understood to be empty of an intrinsic self (shunyata).”  (Wikipedia)  I added this quote without revising it as I thought it was a very good explanation of this philosophy and I wouldn’t want to misquote an ancient writing.  Makes sense doesn’t it?

To those of you who have followed this series, it started out when my hubby and I left our last jobs and opened up our options for an uncertain future ahead of us.  I have always believed that, unlike the Mayan prediction about 2012 being the end of the world, this year brought with it a shift.  Since I started this series we have experienced many wonderful events, encountered interesting characters and changed our thoughts about certain ideas.  I recently read from one of the blogs I follow here that when we travel we should not have any expectations and this would make everything we encounter new.  I just love that!

So how did I come across Panta Rhei?  On our recent trip to Holland we visited one of my hubby’s aunt and uncle, whose house was called Panta Rhei, in a nice village of St Maartensbrug, north of the Netherlands.  Known for its quaint village atmosphere decorated with traditional windmills and numerous camping sites.  In one of my previous stories I posted a story about what we see in our backyard.  This was what we saw in this Dutch backyard.

These were the metal scultures that represented their two dachschund dogs.

Curios cousins of Shaun, the sheep!

 When I went in the backyard to take photos of these sheep they came closer and was as curious as we were of them, maybe they thought we had food to give them!  They were so adorable!

Our hosts were very wonderful and what I took away from that day were memories of the warm company, coffees and teas, home-made pie, choice cheeses…

Gatenkaas...YUM!

 

As we were driving back to Nijmegen we were blessed with an amazing sight of the sunset.

And that said it all… a wonderful day spent with equally wonderful people…

One response

  1. I just like the valuable info you supply in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again right here frequently. I’m slightly certain I’ll be told lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

    March 1, 2012 at 7:09 am

Leave a Reply

