Some observations from travels

Shirotori Garden, Nagoya, Japan

This is my first experience of a proper Japanese Garden, and it was at the Shirotori Garden, where previously the closest I got to see one was a bonsai garden.  This garden was designed to represent paths running along the banks of streams and ponds.  The man-made mound is meant to represent Mt Ontake, the second highest volcano in Japan, and the stream running through the gardens is the Kiso River.  The garden is typical of a Japanese design where it is a miniature of what an ideal garden should look like.  The area is about 3.7 hectares, but it was very pleasant to walk around.  As with any Japanese gardens it had a Seiu-tei (tea ceremony complex) consisting of a tea ceremony house and a Shioiri-tei (tea room).  This was one main reason why I visited this garden today as it was the Spring Romanticism event, one of the few annual special events the garden holds.  They have special tea ceremoniesmarkets and a garden concert.  I did enjoy a short cut version of a tea ceremony – I sat down and got served my Mancha and sweet.  The proper tea ceremony takes up to 3 hours and I came in the middle of one (and I didn’t make a booking!)  nonetheless, I enjoyed my Mancha and sweet.  Tea ceremonies dates as far back as the 9th century.  I am also reading The Way of the Tea by Aaron Fisher, which tells about the history and stories of tea.  It is an interesting read and lets me understand where this sublime practice of enjoying such a simple beverage originated.

Tea hosts in their lovely kimonos

The tea host warming the water for tea

My Mancha and sweet

The tea ceremony for the public was at the Shioiri-tei (tea room) in an open garden.  The Seiu-tei (tea ceremony house) was a beautiful complex of tea rooms designed after an image of a swan “Shirotori” flying down to rest it wings.

A welcome entry to the Seiu-tei

 

The tea ceremony house

Beautiful artwork display

This is my favourite

Inside the Seiu-tei features artwork of special events celebrated at the moment – this one is for Kodomo-no-hi

All around the garden elements typical of a Japanese garden such as stone lanterns, basins, bridges, rocks and sand, trees and water are visible.

Kusunoki-bashi

Yuhin-tei

Kami-no-ike

Mountain stream

Chozubachi, a wash through that flows into rocks

Suikin-kutsu, where sounds are made from the water

There were entertainers

carps all over the many ponds

As it was the 5th of May, Kodomo-no-hi is celebrated all over Japan and there would be fish banners hanging from apartment balconies, houses, temples and here at the park.

An elephant made out of hessian cloth entertaining the children

There was a market as well

pottery lesson

making grasshoppers from palm leaf

you can feed the carps

have tea with your girlfriend

learn valuable lessons from grandpa

or just resting

I had a most relaxing, wonderful day at the Shirotori Garden.  Mental note to self, I must come back in Autumn, when all the Japanese maples change colours as well as for a proper tea ceremony.

2 responses

  1. Hey: thank you for taking some time of creating up this material. I at all times seek to additional my understanding of facts. If I agree or disagree, I like data. I remember the old times once the only source of data was the library or the newspaper. They both equally seem so old. Please excuse my bad grammar : )

    May 7, 2012 at 4:27 am

  2. URL

    I just want to tell you that I’m extremely new to weblog and honestly liked this web website. Much more than likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with exceptional articles and reviews. Bless you for sharing your web website. 994271

    May 15, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Leave a Reply

