Some observations from travels

Roses are Red…Violets are Blue

I recently visited the Tsurumai Park south of Nagoya to enjoy the Rose festival.  The park has about 2000 trees of roses and for rose flower enthusiasts, I reckon, it was heaven on earth.  I have never been the biggest fan of roses, as I opted for other floral varieties, but having spent that day amongst these beautiful flowers I can understand why they are so loved.  When you look at these roses up close their petals are just like silky lace.  In spite of the possibility of having hay fever (yet again!) I couldn’t help myself – I had to dip my face into some of the varieties that were so lovely!  and the perfume…so subtle.  I thought I’d share some of the many varieties I saw that day.  Do enjoy…

And of course there were other interesting features of the park as well.

Cosplay at the park

Garden wedding

Grande Allieva di Danza, Crocetti

It was a wonderful day spent at the park.  When I thought of Japan in the past, varieties of flowers would not come to mind.  I came across the Floral Information and look forward to enjoying the monthly floral festivals this city has to offer.

3 responses

  1. Really stunning photos. I absolutely love roses but never appreciated them when I was younger. Now iIwant to grow them everywhere!!!! I want to be surrounded by the beautiful colours and scents. Especially the old varieties. My aunt in Ireland had an amazing rose bush which and the flowers smelled like stewed apple!!! I wish she had taken it with her when she moved to the UK! I would have taken a cutting or two!!!

    May 29, 2012 at 3:32 am

    • Thank you. Good luck with growing them, I’ve attempted many times from different parts of the world,but alas no luck. Thanks for dropping by.

      May 29, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  2. What breathtaking photos! I love the colourful flowers and the ballerina statue. Looks like you enjoyed yourself too 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    May 30, 2012 at 4:55 am

Leave a Reply

