Some observations from travels

Tiles along Sakae, Nagoya

Welcome back to me! This hot summer days have definitely deterred me from exploring  more interesting summer festivals and activities that would, otherwise, have been great post items.  I’ve told myself, maybe next time.  However, in the past week or so, the weather has let out a little bit and I found the courage to finally do a project I have wanted to do for months.

Walking along the side streets of Sakae in Nagoya you will notice some beautifully designed tiles along the pedestrian walkways.  Since the first time I saw them I have always wanted to take photos and follow which areas they covered – that is the restaurants, cafes, pubs, clubs and ‘other’ places of entertainment.  So far, I have taken a total number of 259 tiles spread up to three blocks.  There were some areas where the tiles are missing and others were just replaced with bitumen or a new driveway.  The themes were varied including international icons representing major cities around the world…

Sydney, The Opera House

Paris, Le Tour Eiffel

New York, The Statue of Liberty

Various costumes…

The Kimono

The Apsara Dancers from Cambodia

Floral theme…

Animal theme…

Japanese lifestyle…

And it goes on and on.  So the next time you’re in Nagoya look down and you might just be walking along some beautiful artwork such as these tiles.

5 responses

  1. They’re just fantastic – so vibrant and original, and fun. Congratulations on your collection so far – 259 is a lot of tiles! Do you know anything more about them? When they started doing them, why they stopped … is there a history of porcelain or pottery making in the town?

    September 20, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • Thanks for that. I have tried to research about them but, unfortunately, I haven’t found anything as yet. They might be stories in Japanese, which means I have to broaden my search to include history. Nagoya is also known for the Noritake ceramics and I have yet to visit that. When I found out more you’ll hear about them here. Thanks for dropping by.

      September 21, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      • Ah, Noritake might be a good place to ask for clues! I’ll be very interested to know what you find out.

        September 21, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  2. 최다해 gongjumonica

    Thank you for posting these! I have been to Ishikawa and what I’ve noticed in some areas there are also tiles painted by children! One can see tiles decorated with flowers or animals. Lovely. I missed Japan.

    September 20, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

